Children, Women, and Whispers

Working with children for the past five weeks was probably the greatest challenged I’ve had to face this year. When I said ‘yes’ to the task I thought it would be easier. Once I was asked for lesson plans I knew it would be harder thatn I thought. Then kids started crying and not listening. They threw up their food, were unable to go potty by themselves, and were uncapable of putting on their own swimsuits. Then I knew that it was gonna be a challenge. As the weeks passed I became discouraged.

A few months before school got out I began praying for a summer job. I didn’t want to work with mission teams anymore because I didn’t want to invest any more time into something  I was not going to do after college. I asked God to put me to something that would prepare for whatever He had in store for my future. I never wanted to be a teacher, and I still don’t, but I took the teaching job. When I became discouraged with teaching I began questioning God and getting mad for being in the place where I was. But God knows better and he sent a subtle answer. Every morning before class, the staff met to have devotions. One morning Tim mentioned a verse that had been showing up in my life recently: “Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. 12 After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper.” I noticed that the verse had to be important since I had been hearing it a few times -and it isn’t one of those popular verses; however, I am dumb and couldn’t make sense of it. While I worked with children some opportunites came up and I was asked to work with a group of young women from a church. I was supposed to teach these women how to make jewelry, but they were a bit irresponsible with schedules and assignments and I once again became discouraged.

The day I finished working at the school, I got some news from my mom. Earlier that day she had visited this project at a local church, and she had met some women that also worked with jewelry so being a stellar mother, she told them about who I was and what I do. Well, these women were interesting in learning metal embossing which I happen to know, so my mom told them that she would talk with me, but that she was sure that I would be more than willing to teach them. When I got home that day, all I wanted to do was sleep for the rest of my summer, but when I spoke to my mom I knew that wouldn’t happen. I was still discouraged by the attitude of the previous group of women, but I accepted to meet them and ask them what they wanted to learn.

I visited the place today and almost cried when I realized how enthusiastic they were about learning! I will be going back tomorrow and couldn’t be more excited to work with them. After meeting them, I got back in the car to go to my mom’s work. While bearing with traffic, the bible verse came to my mind. Today I realized that I had been looking in the wrong places. God is always with me, but the answer I sought from Him was not at the school. I saw the work with children as my sole job, as what God wanted me to do, but I was wrong. I was not hearing His gentle whisper as I worked with the women.

Teaching at the school built my patience and tamed my tongue -words must be watched when one is near children, they’re like little sponges that absorb all they hear and see. Having gone through the challenge of loving little ones prepared me for loving grown ups. I may not become a teacher in the distant future, but I know that I will be working with people. Perhaps I will keep being blessed with the chance to work with such precious women 🙂

One thought on “Children, Women, and Whispers

Leave a Reply

