Lamentations and Hope

There is a character that I have a special relationship with. I can identify myself with him because he is so human, and that is the quality I strive for. He is not human in the negative perception, that we nowadays, hold of that  word. He is human in the way God designed us to be. He rebelled, because he was able to feel and choose. But at the same time, he had this constant connection with God. What impacts me the most about this man is his heart. He was a reflection of God’s feelings towards us before Jesus walked on this earth. He lamented along with God. He saw this world, and the ones around him, through the eyes of the Father. Most amazingly of all, he lamented along with the Father. And through his message he carried despair, but more importantly hope.  I had only read the book of Lamentations once before. But because I need to write about my relationship with this character, I wanted to read this book one more time. I understood that this man shared and channeled God’s compassionate spirit, but I always read his words and life as a message of despair. But a book that’s meant to show Judah’s lament and the Father’s pain for his people, I found a message of hope that emerges.

The word came in perfect timing.

Tomorrow is a day of elections in my nation, and my soul despairs. I fear for the future of my country and for the future of my family. I know thsi is my time to lament and pray for God’s rescuing mercy. But through the words of God, through the lips of this character, my soul has found hope.

I know tomorrow will be a decisive day for the future of Nicaragua, but I know that my heart and my spirity will wait and hope in the Lord.

“Because  of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion; therfore I will wait for him.’ The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the onw who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord… Let him sit alone in silence, for the Lord has laid it on him. Let him bury his face in the dust- there may yet be hope. Let him offer his cheek to one who would strike him, and let him be filled with disgrace. For men are not cast off by the Lord forever. Though he brings grief, he will show compassion, so great is his unfailing love. For he does not willingly bring affliction or grief to the children of men” ~Lamentation 3: 22-33

“Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.” ~Habakuk 3:-17-18

In every season, my hope is in the Lord.

Leave a Reply

